Things any Low-Key Kikay should have-List number 1

 

Skin Care and Grooming

Facial Wash and Cleanser

Nothing beats the comfort of having clear skin. There are a lot of varieties of Facial Wash that we can choose from in order to find what would suit our skin type. Same goes with the toner. There are instances when soap, water, and facial foam are not enough to remove all of the dirt that has been stuck inside our face’s pores. A toner would be essential in removing all of the dirt that normal washing cannot remove.

Credits: Google and Bing Images

You can check out the Himayala Herbals Clarifying Fairness Face Wash: It has an instant glow formula that makes my skin smooth and moisturized every wash. For my cleanser, I use the Silka Facial Cleanser for  Oily Skin (Mild and Clear formula). I am more comfortable with products that has a mild formula since my skin easily reacts to harsh chemical substances.

 

Facial Masks:

There are actually 6 basic types of facial masks according to Helen McGuiness (Facials and Skincare in Essence: author). These types are clay, peel-off, thermal, cream, warm-oil, and natural. There is an appropriate type of peel-off mask for each skin type whether you have an oily, dry, or mature skin.

Credits: Google and Bing Images

In my case, I am more comfortable in using a peel-off mask since it is good for my skin that dries easily especially on my T-zone for normal days and including my cheeks when the climate changes. Peel-off masks tighten the skin temporarily to stimulate the blood supply in the area when released. In some occasions, I also use a cream mask to moisturize and rejuvenate my skin. Furthermore, I prefer using peel-off masks during summer since it gives a cooling effect on my skin, and a cream-mask during the rainy days to rejuvenate and revitalize my skin which usually becomes dry with the sudden change in climate and decrease in temperature

Moisturizer:

A suitable moisturizer can help prevent and treat dry skin. It also helps in protecting your skin from harsh elements and UV rays, improve skin tone and texture, and mask imperfections.

thZHW1T92B

Credits: Google and Bing Images

I use two different kinds of moisturizer for my day-time and night-time routine. In the morning, I use a moisturizer that contains SPF and Vitamin E in order to protect my skin from the sun when I go out. At the end of the day before I go to bed, I see to it that I apply a moisturizer that has a hydrating formula in order to energize my skin overnight.

BB Cream:

thIQ1GEWWP

Credits: Google and Bing Images

BB stands for blemish balm. It is used and classified by most girls as a makeup hybrid and product, but essentially it is also actually a skin care product. With its light foundation-like coverage, it can help in minimizing the visibility of blemishes, and dark spots. At the same time, it hydrates and moisturizes your skin. I have been using the Iwhite Bb cream for two years now, and like the other products that I use, its mild formula is what made me stick to it. It also has a light and natural coverage and has cooling effect once it is applied to your skin. I live in a tropical country so I see to it that the products I use are easy to wear and apply with a coverage that does not tend to be cakey and heavy on the face.

Lip Balm:

A lip balm or a lip sale is essential in moisturizing the lips to prevent it from chapping and drying. It is also best to apply one before putting on lip products such as lip-tints and matte lipsticks to prevent your lips from drying while wearing the product.

thT54R8TBW

Credits: Google and Bing Images

The Nivea Soft Rose lip balm helps in preventing my lips to easily chap. It also helps in reducing the visibility of my lips’ natural lines.

Cheek tints and lip-tints:

Lip tints are the perfect lip finishers if you prefer having a lasting color while remaining light and comfortable. It’s also highly recommended if you have little time to prep-up and groom on a certain date since it is easier to apply. Lip tints can also be used as cheek tints if you want to go for the popular drunk-blush look. Lip and cheek tints usually come as one product.

thQ2IAUEZT

Credits: Google and Bing Images

My favorite lip-tint came from a local make-up brand: Ever Bilena. I have always been a patron of local make-up brands ever since I got into make-up. The good thing about these products is that they are sold in considerable prices. Being beautiful does not mean that you have to spend a lot- you can be practical, and at the same time be able to use quality products that are safe and cost-efficient.

Matte lipsticks:

Nude lipsticks have now become the new make-up kit staple. The perfect nude lippie can definitely make you look more alluring in a seemingly effortless way. There are a lot articles in the internet that you can consult if you want to know the shade that best match your skin color and type. It is important to note that your nude lipstick should make you look healthier instead of being pale. Ladies over the make-up counter can also help you in looking for the perfect shade that would match you.

Credits: Google and Bing Images

I usually go with pink shades and those with a touch of nudes. My top 4 favorite products range from shades of light pink and soft to dark browns- 3 of them are from local brands (Ever Bilena: Mauvey, Toast of New York. VICE Cosmetics: Bet na Bet. Maybelline: Touch of Nude). Like most girls, the shade of my lipstick depends on my mood. On normal days I go with light pink, on days when I feel a bit toned down I just resort to a thin layer of lip-tint mixed with a nude shade. For the days that require an extra boos of confidence and courage, I go with my dark browns and pumped-up reds in order to give myself a bolder look.

Two-way cakes:

Similar to your usual press-powder, two-way cakes come in the form of compacts. The difference between the two is that two-cakes are ideally more versatile than pressed-powders. Applying using a wet-sponge would enable it to have a foundation-like effect on your skin while applying it dry would give you that sheer, simple, and neat neutral base for your everyday look.

Credits: Google and Bing Images

Another Local Product from the Philippines! The Ever Bilena Two-way cake never failed to give me a neutral and light base-it also comes in a cheap price which made me love it even more!

Concealers:

First of all, I just want to say hi to anyone of my readers who, like any other college student like me, barely gets enough sleep. All of those paper works, exams, projects, and other university-stuff can lead to multiple and even consecutive sleepless nights. Soon, you’ll be finding dark circles under your eyes, dark spots, and PIMPLES- hey, please don’t make it a habit to always pop these little devils, it will just a leave a horrible mark on your face and make everything worse. Thank god, concealers exist, right? This would definitely help you in covering up dark circles, pimples, and dark spots. Moreover, once hell-week is over and your body has finally achieved that rejuvenating 8 hours of sleep, with your skin glowing and pimple free, you can still use your concealer in highlighting your best facial features and to contour your face.

takatack-121802_m-0

Credits: Google and Bing Images

You can check-out another local product, the Careline concealer that comes with tea essence. With the formula of tea essence, it does not just conceal your skin; it also helps in nourishing your under-eyes and  in fading the dark circles and spots around your face.

Baby Powder:

Aside from being a popular tool to set your foundation, face powders can also be reapplied throughout the day to minimize shininess caused by oily skin. #BePengePolbo

579327_xlarge

Credits: Google and Bing Images

And of course, most Filipinos must have grown-up with this brand of Baby Powder. Behold, our holy grail: JOHNSON’S BABY POWDER.

Brow Gels:

Brow Gels function as hairsprays for your eyebrow that would hold them in place making it look more polished and defined. However some of us do not have thick and well defined brows- like me. So in our case, instead of a brow gel, we can use an eyebrow pencil in defining and filling-in our brows.

Credits: Google and Bing Images

For bow gels, according to my friends, the Nichido brow gels are easy to apply and comes in an affordable price so I am recommending this product based on the positive reviews I heard from my peers. For the eye-brow pencil


This is the first part of my “Things any Low-Key Kikay should have” series. If you have any comments, recommendations, and suggestions, to help me improve my blog’s content, do not hesitate to contact me through my facebook (Hanna Patricia Cortes) and twitter (@heynuhpatricia) accounts. I you think this post was good (or great, hihi) don’t forget to give it a thumbs up!

Disclaimer: The photos are not mine, here are the links of where I got them.

Credits to the following

https://www.google.com.ph/search?dcr=0&biw=1138&bih=536&tbm=isch&sa=1
https://www.google.com.ph/search?dcr=0&biw=1138&bih=536&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=g_GKWpWkD4Gj0QS0-5XgBw&q=careline+concealer&oq=careline+concealer
http://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=s%
https://www.google.com.ph/search?dcr=0&biw=1138&bih=536&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=zvaKWp_TE8uX0gTrloigBQ&q=Eyebrow+Palette+MAybelline&oq=Eyebrow+Palette+MAybelline
https://www.google.com.ph/search?dcr=0&biw=1138&bih=536&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=v_OKWt7_Ooe50gSJ5pagAg&q=clear+mascara+nichido
https://www.google.com.ph/search?dcr=0&biw=1138&bih=536&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=lPGKWvj8LoOF0QT8prnQDA&q=johnson%27s+baby+powder&oq=johnson%

Leave a comment