FOR THE PARISH YOUTH MINISTRY

These are the bracelets they gave to serve as a remembrance TREASURES
These are the bracelets they gave to serve as a remembrance
TREASURES

IMG_20150705_101656

My fellow Altar Servers we share the same fondness of taking selfies
My fellow Altar Servers
we share the same fondness of taking selfies

DSC07561

Left to right Elbert: Incoming Vice President Yvonne: out-going Vice President Diane: Incoming President Me: Out-going President
Left to right
Elbert: Incoming Vice President
Yvonne: out-going Vice President
Diane: Incoming President
Me: Out-going President
Summer outing: My closest friends from PYM
Summer outing: My closest friends from PYM
Pool parties are more fun with PYM
Pool parties are more fun with PYM
With Manuel Dumaya, a former server, one of the Seniors
With Manuel Dumaya, a former server, one of the Seniors

IMG_20150705_101648 IMG_20150705_101940

July 25 2015 Saturday.
For 4 years, every Saturday, I would get up early to finish all of my homework, finish my chores, and run some errands for my father. At 1 p.m, I’d be on my way to the church for the weekly meeting in our organization: Parish Youth Ministry in which I have been elected as the Youth leader 7 months ago.
Today is my last saturday as their leader, because tomorrow, I’d be stepping down of the position. I had to resign because I’d be studying in UST for college. I’d be far from my home then. I tried to think that it’s just a normal saturday, but no matter what I do, all I could think of is how much I would miss the company of my friends and all of the members of this organization. Handling them wasn’t easy, but they’re the ones who taught me how to handle responsibilities better. Leading them was never a burden, it was an honor, blessing and a privilage at the same time.
I’ve grown to love them as my brothers and sisters. I’ve grown to care for them the way I care for my family. They became very close to my heart. The thought of me being away from them, always bring me to tears.
Next Saturday, there would be no more

“Guys let’s clean up”

“Guys get your things and let’s practice”

“Guys don’t forget to be in your proper uniform tomorrow”

“Guys, if you need any help, feel free to approach me”
“Guys be careful on your way home, see you tomorrow”

Tomorrow would be my last Sunday as an Altar Server. Looking back, I couldn’t feel anything but blessed, because St. Antoninus Parish had given me a lot of opportunities. I became a Catechist, Choir Member, and an Altar Server. It was an amazing journey
Being a member of PYM was one heck of an adventure.
Some of my members gave me stuff like ribbons and bracelets: for remembrance. They hugged me and said “Ate Hanna, please take care of yourself always and don’t forget about us. If you have time, please visit us, we will miss you”
I was already about to cry but I didn’t want to show my tears. Instead I flashed a smile and thanked them..
I realized that sometimes, even if we are not aware, we touch other’s lives and leave a mark on their hearts. A simple act of compassion and kindness can lead into an eternal appreciation.
Maybe God wanted me to learn how to be compassionate, caring, and responsible all in the same time that’s why he lead me to PYM, to being their leader.
I know that the time has come, that my journey as member has to end. But I could never really leave. My thoughts would be focused on my studies soon. But a piece of my heart would always be left in PYM. Withing the four corners of St. Antoninus Parish, I would be leaving the sound of my laughter, my loud commands, my corny jokes, my aura.
Thank God for giving me the most exciting 4 years ever.
Parish Youth Ministry, Thank you for everything, it was one heck of an adventure.

Leave a comment